并购保证(W&I)险能够使中国投资者在并购交易中具备战略优势

对于中国投资者,并购投资能带来巨大的发展机遇,但却难以取得长期的成功。风克的两名专家在下文中将介绍如何将并购保证险作为有效的战略工具。

尽管全球保护主义有所抬头,但预计中国公司的境外并购投资仍会在接下来的几年中大幅增长。[1] 研究显示,中国投资者在未来10年的境外直接投资总额预计将达到1.5-2.5万亿美元。[2] 尽管自2016年以来,中国投资者的对外直接投资总额呈下降趋势,但最近出现了复苏迹象。在2019年,中国投资者的对外直接投资总额仍然达到了1170亿美元。中国投资者当前主要关注欧洲市场,在过去十年中,中国投资者在欧洲的对外直接投资(FDI)显著增长。

图1:中国投资者于2000-2019年在欧盟各国的FDI交易的累计价值荣鼎集团/墨卡托中国研究中心

在中国投资者于2000-2019年直接投资的欧盟国家中,英国与德国分别排名第一与第二位。对于符合中国为使中国公司在10个关键行业中成为全球技术领袖而制定的“走向世界”战略和“中国制造2025”政策的收购,预期中国监管机构会继续提供支持性政治与融资环境。[3]

图2:中国的目标One Road Research。Peter Pham:中国将拥有怎样的未来?Forbes Media LLC。2018年3月7日

此外,预计中国为实现在亚洲、欧洲和非洲等70多个国家间建立纽带的远大计划而提出的“一带一路倡议”将促进中国投资者的境外投资,该倡议主要关注基础设施、能源和运输。

对于中国投资者,收购外国公司会带来巨大的发展机遇,但同时,交易的达成以及将并购投资转化为长期成功对中国投资者而言,是一项重大挑战。并购保证险有助于降低与跨境并购投资相关的风险。并购保证险是并购活动成功完成的基石。[4] 对中国投资者而言,并购保证险的特殊吸引力不仅在于其能够立即提供财务上的保护,还在于其能够作为战略工具创造附加值。

并购保证险-转移责任风险

并购保证险涵盖卖方对在买卖协议(SPA)中向买方提供的声明、保证或特定补偿(包括税务契约)的违背。该保险承保因未知或未披露的事项产生的损失或责任,并补偿经济损失。并购保证险根据各并购交易的具体需求分别定制。并购保证险的投保人可以是卖方(卖方保险),也可以是买方(买方保险)。在当前市场中,并购保证险的投保人几乎全部是买方。因此,下文主要讨论买方保险。

全球并购保证险市场中的多个保险公司之间竞争激烈,这导致在过去几年中,保险费用下降、保险范围扩大以及创新型的保险不断出现。欧洲并购保证险市场的索赔频率与索赔额尚未达到美国并购保证险市场的水平。因此,欧洲并购保证险市场的保费远低于美国并购保证险市场。在欧洲,最有可能被违反的保证与财务报表、合法性以及重要合同有关。尽管并购保证险在中国并不普遍,但在中国买方境外并购活动领域,并购保证险的咨询率与购买率均显著上升。不过,中国投资者目前主要为境外投资购买并购保证险,为中国境内的并购交易购买并购保证险的中国投资者仅占少数。

买卖双方实现共赢

卖方一旦在交割后违反SPA项下的任何声明、保证或补偿,需承担相应责任。买方通常要求将购买价款的一部分存入共管账户,以应对潜在索赔。对卖方而言,并购保证险的主要优势在于能够限制(或免除)卖方的责任,由保险公司代卖方承担责任,这使得卖方能够保留因并购交易获得的资金,几乎无需承担“长尾责任”,也无需开立共管账户(“干净退出”)。仅在卖方故意违背或因重大疏忽违背声明、保证或补偿的情况下,保险公司才有权向卖方追偿。因此,卖方-无论是私募股权基金、个人或公司-通常要求购买并购保证险。在如今的卖方友好型并购市场中,卖方将购买并购保证险作为交易条件之一的情况并不罕见。

对于买方,在如今的卖方市场中,并购保证险可能是获得实质性保证的唯一实用选择。卖方干净退出之后,保险公司仍需向买方提供保证。此外,并购保证险提供的保证期限和金额优于卖方一般能够获得的保证期限和金额,这使得买方有更长的时间用来检测与报告目标收购公司可能存在的问题。产生索赔时,保险公司能够专业地进行理赔,而且具备偿付能力,使买方能够在涉及多个和/或外国卖方的情况下,避免与赔款的收款相关的各种问题。所有这些因素对买方取得长期投资成功均至关重要。接受卖方不做任何保证或仅做有限保证的交易会使买方面临巨大的风险。对买方而言,无法在索赔时妥善执行的保证是无价值的,而且会使其遭受重大损失。此外,在买方(例如,当卖方仍然是目标公司的关键员工或成为目标公司的业务合作伙伴时)控诉卖方后未得到任何收益的情况下,并购保证险同样有效,因为保险公司会对买方承担责任。

中国政府执行风险管控措施

在2017年,中国政府开始更加仔细地审查中国投资者的境外投资,同时鼓励国有企业采用适当的工具尽量降低与境外交易相关的金融风险。2017年6月,中国政府颁布了一项有关境外投资管理措施的指令。[5] 此外,中国政府明确规定,开展境外投资的公司的决策人需对境外投资的成功承担个人责任,以防其忽略自身的管理职责或不遵守现有规章和法规。

众所周知,由于中国与目标国家的监管政策以及中国公司内部流程耗时而且决策程序复杂,导致涉及中国买方的并购交易需要的交割时间长于涉及西方买方的并购交易。然而,时间是并购交易的关键。这些因素导致中国投资者与其他潜在买方相比,处于明显劣势地位。并购保证险可以通过“提高报价条件”帮助中国投资者扭转劣势。

中国投资者积极向卖方提供并购保证险还有一大动机,即并购保证险不仅可以降低买卖双方的责任,还有助于解决导致谈判破裂的因素。因此,当买卖双方无法就保证和补偿条款达成一致时-导致整个交易面临失败的风险-并购保证险有助于“缩小差距”。由于保证与补偿通常是并购交易中最常讨论的问题,因此并购保证险能够进一步简化与加快双方间的整个谈判过程。

并购保证险承保未知风险

然而,并购保证险无法解决并购交易中产生的所有问题,其在概念上设计用于承保交易不可预计的意外与未知风险-保险公司本质上不承保不合理与不可评估的风险。保险公司要求买方在购买保险前,按照市场惯例对交易目标进行合法尽职审查,因此,并购保证险并不替代彻底且全面的尽职审查。并购保证险一般不涵盖未进行尽职审查的领域的相关风险,因此,尽职审查的范围对并购交易的“可保性”至关重要。

承保识别出的风险的特殊风险保单

尽管并购保证险一般不涵盖披露的或已知的风险,但可以通过特殊风险保单承保这类风险:

  • 税费补偿险承保投保人在尽职审查中识别出的潜在纳税义务,例如,为特定财产选择了错误的增值税或交易的税务处理导致的纳税义务。
  • 诉讼买断险承保投保人在收购时现有的或预期的涉及目标公司的任何诉讼、仲裁或其它法律纠纷固有的不确定性。
  • 环保险承保投保人的环境污染风险。环境污染风险通常存在于房地产交易以及收购有制造厂的公司的交易中。尽管并购保证险一般涵盖环境法项下的事项,例如,目标公司未获得必要许可的风险,但其通常不涵盖财产污染与清洁。
  • 产权险涵盖与资产或股份的所有权相关的风险。尽管产权险一直以来主要用于房地产交易,但如今也用于经营性标的的交易,尤其当房地产是目标公司价值的重要组成部分或卖方契约的有效性被质疑时。

购买有成本效益的综合保险

为购买涵盖并购交易相关风险的有成本效益的综合保险,应开展涉及并购保证险市场内相关保险公司的招标,然后,对比并评估不同保险公司提供的报价。鉴于该任务较复杂,因此投资者通常委托与多家保险公司有联系的国际保险经纪人代为分析保险公司提供的保险范围与相应保费以及提供综合报告,即所谓的非约束性报价单(NBI)。此外,保险经纪人还可以针对具体的并购交易,灵活且快速地对风险进行专业评估。经纪人已在交易市场累积丰富的经验与知识,能够为投资者争取更多利益。

并购保证险与保险尽职审查之间的分界线

如上所述,并购保证险能够承保大量交易风险。开展全面的合法尽职审查是确保并购保证险涵盖所有交易风险的重要前提,但这是否表示不再需要进行具体保险尽职审查?谨慎的买方会在获得所有权以后,尽量避免任何意外。其不仅尽量识别未被保险的风险,还切实评估卖方的风险,例如,了解卖方已偿付、已产生和已被报告的索赔或卖方在风险管理方面存在的需要进一步投资的严重问题,例如,工厂内尚未安装的必要喷淋系统。因此,全面保险尽职审查报告有助于买方做出决定-要求卖方提供进一步保证或降低目标公司的购价。此外,也可将未在保险尽职审查中识别的某些风险包含在并购保证险中。因此,保险尽职审查报告对于保护买方的财务状况至关重要。所以,为维持买方的竞争优势,应在每次并购交易中,既进行保险尽职审查,又购买并购保证险。

并购交易风险导航

由于能够降低买卖双方与并购交易直接相关的风险,并购保证险在过去几年开始变得流行。对于中国投资者,综合保险对按照政府要求更好地控制境外投资风险至关重要。此外,并购保证险能够成为中国买方的重要竞争优势,打消西方卖方对与中国买方交易的顾虑。并购保证险的优势可以进一步通过为跨境并购交易的特殊风险定制的综合并购险解决方案予以补充。

作者: 

王弨仁先生(Thomas Wang)是风克集团的董事会成员。他负责针对跨国公司所运营的内部保险经理人的销售业务。他同时总管风克集团在中国的业务,并担任风克中国部总负责人。此外他还负责初创阶段公司的保险和风险管控。

王弨仁先生于1971年生于维也纳。他在从维也纳经济和工商管理大学毕业后开始在风克集团董事会担任助理。他随后在销售以及国际客户的账目管理领域工作并获得相关经验,在这段时间内他同时兼任风克国际集团的质量管理专员。2000年起他开始担任风克集团风控咨询部门负责人并拓展了风克集团的风控咨询业务。他于2002年起担任风克国际集团奥地利有限公司,即风克集团奥地利分公司的总经理。该集团在其领导下成为该国公司业务保险经纪人领域的领头羊。王弨仁先生于2012年成为风克国际集团奥地利分公司的合伙人,并于2017年起开始在汉堡担任风克集团董事。

孔劭凡博士(Dr. Stephan Kuntner)是风克集团中国公司业务部负责人。他负责为中国对德及对欧直接投资提供全面的保险以及风险管理服务。他善于为中国投资者就并购交易中各类风险的相关事宜提供建议,并尤其专长于并购保证险。

在加入风克集团之前,他在一家国际律师事务所的上海办公室工作过三年。他为大量跨国公司在并购事宜,公司重整以及外国对华直接投资方面提供了大量建议。在此之前他曾在德国汉堡的一家国际律师事务所的公司法部门工作。孔劭凡先生在德国汉堡博锐思法学院获得法律学位,并在中国社科院法学所学习中国法律。在获得法律学位后他花费一年时间在南京大学进修中文。在其博士论文中,孔劭凡先生对中德两国公司法进行了比较分析。


[1] https://www.ft.com/content/ed2a4a16-2db6-11e8-9b4b-bc4b9f08f381 (于2020年12月27日访问)

[2] https://www.ft.com/content/ed2a4a16-2db6-11e8-9b4b-bc4b9f08f381 (于2020年12月27日访问)

[3] 有关中国制造2025政策的详细分析,请参阅https://www.merics.org/sites/default/files/2017-09/MPOC_No.2_MadeinChina2025.pdf(于2020年12月27日访问)

[4] 并购保证险是英国与欧洲的通用术语,在美国称为声明及保证(R&W)险。

[5] http://www.mof.gov.cn/gp/xxgkml/zcgls/201708/t20170802_2664315.html

W&I insurance as a strategic advantage for Chinese investors in M&A transactions

For Chinese investors, M&A investments offer great opportunities, but turning them into long-term successes can be a great challenge. Two Funk experts show how W&I insurance can be a useful strategic instrument.

Despite rising global protectionism, outbound M&A investments by Chinese corporations are still expected to show substantial growth over the next years.[1] Studies project that Chinese outbound direct investments will total USD 1.5 trillion to USD 2.5 trillion over the next 10 years.[2] Although the overall volume of China’s outward direct investments has been decreasing since 2016, there are emerging signs of dynamism. In 2019, such deals still totalled USD 117 billion. A specific focus for Chinese investors is being put on Europe, where Chinese Foreign Direct Investments (FDI) grew substantially throughout the last decade:

Figure 1: Cumulative value of Chinese FDI transactions in the EU by country, 2000-2019. Rhodium Group/MERICS.

Among the EU countries at which those investments were directed in the period from 2000 to 2019, the UK and Germany are ranked first and second. Chinese regulators are anticipated to continue to provide a supportive political and financing environment for acquisitions that are aligned with China’s “Go Global” strategy and “Made in China 2025” policy, which aim for Chinese companies to become global technological leaders in 10 key industries.[3]

Figure 2: China’s Goals. One Road Research. Peter Pham: What Will China’s Future Look Like? Forbes Media LLC. Mar 7, 2018

In addition, China’s “Belt and Road Initiative”, the ambitious plan to build links between Asia, Europe and Africa covering more than 70 countries, is predicted to be an increasing driver of Chinese outbound investment deals. Its focus is on infrastructure, energy and transportation.

For Chinese investors, acquisitions of foreign companies offer great opportunities. At the same time, closing deals and turning M&A investments into long-term successes has proven to entail significant challenges for Chinese investors. M&A related insurances can help to mitigate the risks associated with such a cross-border M&A investment. The cornerstone of a successful M&A activity is Warranty and Indemnity (W&I) insurance.[4] For Chinese investors, W&I insurance is particularly interesting as a strategic instrument that adds value beyond the immediate financial protection of the insurance coverage.

W&I insurance – transferring liability risks

W&I insurance covers breaches of representations, warranties or certain indemnities (including the tax covenant) given by the seller to the buyer in a Sale and Purchase Agreement (SPA). The insurance protection covers loss or liability arising from unknown or undisclosed matters and provides indemnity for financial loss. Each W&I insurance policy is tailored to meet the specific needs of the respective M&A transaction. Policyholder of the W&I insurance can either be the seller (Sell-Side-Insurance) or the buyer (Buy-Side-Insurance). In the current market, W&I insurance is almost exclusively taken out by the buyer. The following article therefore focuses on the scenario of the Buy-Side-Insurance.

Considering the global W&I insurance market, there is a fierce competition of a number of W&I insurers which has driven price reduction, coverage enhancement and genuine innovation over the past few years. The European market still has not come up to the same claims frequency and volume like the US. As a result, insurance premiums in the European market are considerably lower than in the US market. In Europe, the warranties that are most likely to be breached relate to financial statements, compliance with laws and material contracts. Even though W&I insurance is not widely known within China, the number of both inquiries and uptakes of W&I insurance increases strongly for insuring outbound M&A activities of Chinese buyers. However, for the moment W&I insurance is predominantly bought by Chinese investors for outbound investments and not for domestic M&A transactions inside of China.

Win-win situation for seller and buyer

The seller retains a post-closing liability for any breach of a representation, warranty or indemnity under the SPA. The buyer usually requests that a proportion of the purchase price is being placed into an escrow account to cover potential claims. The key advantage of W&I insurance to the seller is that he can limit (or eliminate) this liability. The insurer effectively „steps into the shoes” of the seller. This allows the seller to retain funds flowing from the transaction with little to no „tail of liability“ and without the need of an escrow („clean exit“). The insurer can take recourse against the seller only in case of an intentionally or grossly neglected breach. The seller – whether a private equity fund, private person or corporation – therefore will often demand that a W&I insurance is utilised. In today’s seller-friendly M&A market, it is not rare that sellers request a W&I insurance as a condition of the transaction.

For the buyer, W&I insurance might be the only realistic option in the current seller market to obtain a substantial warranty. While the seller realises a clean exit, the insurer still provides warranties to the buyer. Furthermore, the W&I policy can extend the duration and amount of the warranty compared to what typically can be obtained from the seller. This provides the buyer with additional time to detect and report problems that may exist within the acquired target company. In case of a claim, the insurer is a professional and solvent respondent. The buyer can avoid compensation collection issues when multiple and/or foreign sellers are involved. All these considerations are crucial for the long-term success of buyer’s investment. Agreeing to a transaction in which the seller provides none or only very limited warranties means substantial risks for the buyer. A warranty that cannot be properly enforced in case of a claim would prove meritless and cause severe loss for the buyer. Additionally, W&I insurance is helpful in the context in which the buyer gains no benefit from suing the seller (e.g. when the seller remains a key employee in the target company or becomes a business partner), as the insurer is subject to the liability in this case.

Chinese government enforces risk management measures

Starting in 2017, the Chinese government began to put outbound investments under more scrutiny. State-owned enterprises have been encouraged to utilise appropriate instruments to mitigate the financial risks associated with outbound transactions. In June 2017, a directive on management measures of outbound investments of state-owned enterprises was released.[5] Furthermore, the Chinese government clearly states that decision makers of companies going abroad have to be held personally responsible for the success of outbound investments, in case they neglect their management duties or do not abide the existing rules and regulations.

It is generally known that successfully closing an M&A transaction that involves Chinese buyers often requires more time than closing a transaction with a western buyer. Reasons are regulatory hurdles both in China and the target country as well as long and complex internal decision-making procedures in Chinese corporations. However, M&A transactions are usually time-critical. Those characteristics put Chinese investors in a decisive disadvantage compared to other prospective buyers. W&I insurance can help the Chinese investor to turn the tables by “sweetening the bid”.

There is also a strong incentive for the Chinese buyer to proactively offer W&I insurance to the seller, as W&I insurance can not only reduce the liabilities of both the buyer and the seller but also help to come across deal-breakers. Thus, when the seller and buyer cannot come to an agreement on the terms of the warranties and indemnities – facing the risk of failing the entire transaction – W&I Insurance can help to “bridge the gap”. Employing a W&I insurance further simplifies and expedites the entire negotiation between the parties, as warranties and indemnities usually are among the most discussed issues of an M&A transaction.

W&I insurance for unknown risks

However, W&I insurance cannot solve all problems that arise in an M&A transaction. It is conceptually designed to cover unexpected and unknown risks inherent to the transaction target – keeping in mind that insurers by nature do not underwrite irrational and unassessed risks. Insurers require that a buyer who seeks insurance cover has undertaken a legal due diligence review of the target in accordance with market practice. Therefore, W&I insurance is not a substitute for conducting a thorough and comprehensive due diligence. Risks associated with areas that have not been subject to due diligence are typically excluded from coverage under a W&I policy. The scope of the due diligence is therefore fundamental to making an M&A transaction “insurable”.

Special risk policies for identified risks

While disclosed or known risks are typically excluded from a W&I policy, these can be insured through so-called special risk policies:

  • Tax indemnity insurance indemnifies the policy holder against potential tax liabilities that have been identified in the due diligence. These liabilities can arise for instance from the uncertainty of having selected the correct VAT for a specific property or from the tax treatment of the transaction.
  • Litigation buy-out insurance indemnifies the policy holder from uncertainties inherent in any current or anticipated litigation, arbitration or other legal dispute in which a target company is involved at the time of the acquisition.
  • Environmental risk insurance indemnifies the policy holder against environmental pollution. This risk often arises in real-estate transactions and acquisitions of corporations with manufacturing sites. While the W&I policy typically covers the matter in environmental law, such as the risk that the target company does not possess the required permits, it often excludes pollution and the clean-up of the property.
  • Title insurance covers risks surrounding title to assets or shares. While historically primarily used in real estate transactions, policies are now also used in operational transactions, especially where real estate is a crucial factor of the target company’s value or where the covenant strength of a seller is questioned.

Obtaining comprehensive and cost-efficient coverage

In order to obtain comprehensive and cost-efficient insurance coverage for the risks associated with an M&A transaction, a call for a tender including the relevant players in the W&I insurance market should be launched. As a result, quotes from multiple insurers have to be compared and evaluated. Given the complexity of this task, investors often engage an international insurance broker who has access to a wide range of insurers, analyses the offered insurance coverages against the proposed premiums and provides a comprehensive summary report, the so-called Non-Binding-Indication (NBI). The insurance broker furthermore can provide a flexible, fast and professional risk assessment that is tailored to the specific M&A transaction. In addition, the investor can profit from the rich experience and insights that the broker has gained in the transaction market.

Where is the demarcation line between W&I insurance and insurance due diligence?

As described above, a large number of transactional risks can be covered by means of a W&I insurance. Conducting a comprehensive legal due diligence is an important prerequisite for ensuring full coverage under W&I insurance. Does this imply undergoing a specific insurance due diligence is no longer necessary? The prudent buyer thrives to avoid surprises of any kind once he acquires ownership. He tries not only to identify insurance gaps but also to get a realistic evaluation of the seller’s risk situation, e.g. learning from paid, incurred and reported claims or serious risk management problems which require further investments such as a required yet not-installed sprinkler system in the factory. As a consequence, a comprehensive insurance due diligence report can help the buyer in decision-making – requesting for further warranties or reductions in the purchasing price of the target company. In addition, some risks unveiled through insurance due diligence can even be included into the W&I insurance coverage. Therefore, an insurance due diligence report plays a vital role in securing the buyer’s financial position. Accordingly, insurance due diligence and W&I insurance are supposed to go hand in hand in each and every M&A transaction to secure a competitive advantage for the buyer.

Navigating the risks of an M&A transaction

W&I Insurance has become popular over the past years, because it allows both the seller and the buyer to mitigate risks that are directly associated with an M&A transaction. For Chinese investors, comprehensive risk coverage is crucial to fulfilling the government’s requirement to better control the risks of outbound investments. In addition, a W&I policy can be an important competitive advantage to outweigh reservations of western sellers about entering a transaction with a Chinese buyer. The advantages of a W&I Insurance can further be supplemented by the range of special risk insurances that can be tailored to provide a comprehensive M&A insurance solution for a cross-border M&A transaction.

Authors:

Thomas Wang (王弨仁) is a member of the Management Board of the Funk Group. He is responsible for sales for multinational corporations operating via in-house brokers. He is in charge of the Funk interests in China and heads the Funk China division. Furthermore, he is responsible for insurance and risk management solutions for the start-up industry.

He was born in Vienna in 1971. After graduating from Vienna University of Economics and Business Administration, Thomas Wang started working in Hamburg as an assistant to the Funk Management Board. He then gained experience in sales and account management for international key accounts. During this time he also acted as a quality management officer for Funk International. In 2000, he took on the role of Head of Risk Consulting and expanded the risk consulting business at Funk. In 2002, he became the managing director of Funk’s Austrian subsidiary, Funk International Austria GmbH, which achieved a leading market position as a corporate insurance broker in Austria under his leadership. Thomas Wang became a partner of Funk International Austria in 2012. In 2017, he was appointed to the Management Board of the Funk Group in Hamburg.

Dr. Stephan Kuntner (孔劭凡博士) is the head of the China Corporate Business of Funk.  He is responsible for comprehensive insurance and risk management solutions for Chinese outbound direct investments. He advises Chinese investors on insuring M&A transaction-related risks, with a special focus on W&I insurance.

Prior to joining Funk, he has worked for more than three years in the Shanghai office of an international law firm. He has advised multinational corporations on M&A transactions, corporate restructuring and foreign direct investments in China. Before that, he has worked in the corporate law department of an international law firm in Hamburg, Germany.  Stephan Kuntner holds a law degree from Bucerius Law School in Hamburg, Germany, and has studied Chinese law at the Law Institute of the Chinese Academy of Social Science in Beijing. Following his law degree, he studied Chinese for one year at Nanjing University. In his PhD thesis, Stephan analysed  and compared  Chinese and German corporate law.


[1] https://www.ft.com/content/ed2a4a16-2db6-11e8-9b4b-bc4b9f08f381 (accessed 27.12.2020)

[2] https://www.ft.com/content/ed2a4a16-2db6-11e8-9b4b-bc4b9f08f381 (accessed 27.12.2020)

[3] For a detailed analysis of the China 2025 policy, see https://www.merics.org/sites/default/files/2017-09/MPOC_No.2_MadeinChina2025.pdf (accessed 27.12.2020)

[4] W&I Insurance is the common term used in the UK and Europe, while it is referred to as Representation and Warranty (R&W) Insurance in the US.

[5] http://www.mof.gov.cn/gp/xxgkml/zcgls/201708/t20170802_2664315.html